NJC To Warn Three Justices, Bar Them From Elevation To High Courts

NJC To Warn Three Justices, Bar Them From Elevation To High Courts

The National Judicial Council (NJC) concluded at its executive council meeting to issue warning letters to three justices of federal and state high courts.

They are Justice Inyang Ekwo of the Federal High Court, Abuja, Justice G. B. Brikins-Okolosi of the Delta State High Court and Justice Amina Shehu of the Yobe State High Court.

They were found guilty of different misconducts during the 105th plenary meeting of the council.
According to the NJC in a statement by the its director of information, Mr Soji Oye, Ekwo and Brikins-Okolosi were barred from elevation to a higher bench for two years and three years respectively.

The statement said Ekwo is to be warned for abuse of discretionary power of a judge by wrongly granting an ex parte order in suit no. FHC/ABJ/C/626/2023 Juliet Ebere Nwadi Gbaka & 2 Ors V Seplat Energy Plc & 12 Ors,

“The Hon. Judge is also barred from being elevated to a higher bench for two years.

“Hon. Justice G. B. Brikins-Okolosi of Delta State High Court is also issued a warning for failure to deliver judgment within the stipulated period in Joseph Anene Okafor Vs Skye Bank, suit no. A/94/2010 after parties had filed and adopted their final written addresses.”

Brikins-Okolosi will also not be elevated to a higher bench for a period of three years,” the statement noted.

For Shehu, the council cautioned him for issuing writ of possession conferring title on the defendant in suit no. YBS/HC/NNR/1cv/2020 when there was no subsisting judgment of any court to enable His Lordship issue the writ.

The NJC also recommended two reports written against judges of the federal and state High Courts for further investigation.

Furthermore, the council dismissed petitions against several judges for lack of merit, evidence of misconduct, subjudice or that they were matters that could be appealed.

The dismissed petitions were against Justices A. M. Liman, A. A. Okeke, D. E. Osiagor (Federal High Court); Justices S. B. Belgore, and Bello Kawu (High Court of the Federal Capital Territory), among others.

“The council deliberated on the notification of retirements of three judicial officers including that of the Chief Justice of Nigeria, Hon Justice Olukayode Ariwoola, and notification of death of three judges of federal and state courts,” the statement added.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.