Lookman Named Official UEFA Europa League Player Of The Match

Lookman Named Official UEFA Europa League Player Of The Match

Atalanta’s Ademola Lookman has been named official UEFA Europa League Final Player of the Match (Hankook Player of the Match) after his hat-trick won the 2024 UEFA Europa League final for the Italian side in Dublin on Wednesday.

The UEFA Technical Observer panel’s assessment of the Nigerian’s performance said it all: “For obvious reasons and his all-round enthusiasm and energy. Really sharp and his execution was spot on.”

Lookman anticipated Davide Zappacosta’s ball across the box to open the scoring, then hit a brilliant individual second on 26 minutes. A threat all night, he became the first player to score a Europa League final treble after Gianluca Scamacca played him through to smash in Atalanta’s third on 75 minutes.

Players of the Match in previous finals:

2023 Yassine Bounou (Sevilla)

2022 Kevin Trapp (Frankfurt)

2021 Étienne Capoue (Villarreal)

2020 Luuk de Jong (Sevilla)

2019 Eden Hazard (Chelsea)

2018 Antoine Griezmann (Atlético de Madrid)

2017 Ander Herrera (Man United)

2016 Coke (Sevilla)

2015 Éver Banega (Sevilla)

2014 Ivan Rakitić (Sevilla)

2013 Branislav Ivanović (Chelsea)

2012 Radamel Falcao (Atlético)

2011 Radamel Falcao (Porto)

2010 Diego Forlán (Atlético de Madrid)

2009 Darijo Srna (Shakhtar)

2008 Andrey Arshavin (Zenit)

2007 Andrés Palop (Sevilla)

2006 Enzo Maresca (Sevilla)

2005 Daniel Carvalho (CSKA Moskva)

2004 Roberto Ayala (Valencia)

2003 Derlei (Porto)

2002 Jon Dahl Tomasson (Feyenoord)

2001 Gary McAllister (Liverpool)

2000 Cláudio Taffarel (Galatasaray)

1999 Hernán Crespo (Parma)

1998 Ronaldo (Inter)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.