Euro 2024: Rashford, Sancho, White Left Out Of England’s Official Provisional Squad

Euro 2024: Rashford, Sancho, White Left Out Of England’s Official Provisional Squad

Gareth Southgate has left out Marcus Rashford, Jadon Sancho and Ben White from his provisional 33-man squad for the Euro 2024 in Germany.

Southgate unveiled his provisional squad on Tuesday with some surprise exclusion and inclusion.

Rashford has earned 60 caps and scored 17 goals, including three at the 2022 World Cup in Qatar but has struggled for form this season with only seven Premier League goals for Manchester United.

Jadon Sancho, who has helped Borussia Dortmund reached the Champions League final, was overlooked, while Arsenal defender Ben White was expectedly left out.

The Gunners right-back has not featured for England since he was kicked out of the team’s camp at the Qatar 2022 World Cup.

Also Read: Nottingham Forest Trigger Aina Contract Extension

Also, Eric Dier, Jordan Henderson and Raheem Sterling, who have been part of Southgate’s squad at past tournaments were overlooked.

The England manager gambled on the fitness of left-back Luke Shaw and picked uncapped Jarrad Branthwaite, Curtis Jones, Jarell Quansah and Adam Wharton.

Cole Palmer, Anthony Gordon and Ollie Watkins were rewarded for fine seasons with Chelsea, Newcastle and Aston Villa, respectively, while Brentford forward Ivan Toney was also included despite returning in January from an eight-month suspension for breaching Football Association betting rules.

Jack Grealish was selected despite starting just 10 league games in Manchester City’s title-winning campaign, while Mainoo’s dramatic elevation continues having only made his full league debut for Manchester United against Everton in November.

UEFA’s deadline for final squad submissions is midnight on June 7, when Southgate will have to select 26 players from Tuesday’s list to take to Germany.

The England training squad will join up on Wednesday 29 May before friendlies against Bosnia-Herzegovina on 3 June and Iceland on 7 June.

England will start their Euro 2024 campaign with a Group C game against Serbia on Sunday 16 June.

England’s provisional squad for Euro 2024:


Dean Henderson (Crystal Palace), Jordan Pickford (Everton), Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal), James Trafford (Burnley)


Jarrad Branthwaite (Everton), Lewis Dunk (Brighton & Hove Albion), Joe Gomez (Liverpool), Marc Guehi (Crystal Palace), Ezri Konsa (Aston Villa), Harry Maguire (Manchester United), Jarell Quansah (Liverpool), Luke Shaw (Manchester United), John Stones (Manchester City), Kieran Trippier (Newcastle United), Kyle Walker (Manchester City)


Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Jude Bellingham (Real Madrid), Conor Gallagher (Chelsea),Curtis Jones (Liverpool), Kobbie Mainoo (Manchester United), Declan Rice (Arsenal), Adam Wharton (Crystal Palace)


Jarrod Bowen (West Ham United), Eberechi Eze (Crystal Palace), Phil Foden (Manchester City),Anthony Gordon (Newcastle United), Jack Grealish (Manchester City), Harry Kane (Bayern Munich), James Maddison (Tottenham Hotspur), Cole Palmer (Chelsea), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Ivan Toney (Brentford), Ollie Watkins (Aston Villa)


Copyright © 2024 All rights reserved. The information contained in may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.