Edo Queens Begin Qualifiers In Cote d’Ivoire



The 2023/2024 Nigeria Women Football League (NWFL) Premiership winners, Edo Queens will begin their quest to qualify for the 4th edition of the CAF Women’s Champions League when the West Africa Zone B (WAFU-B) Qualifiers take place in Abidjan, Cote d’Ivoire capital in August.

WAFU-B announced the venue and date for this year’s Women’s Champions League Qualifiers on Wednesday as the fourth edition of the WAFU-B qualifying tournament of the women’s champions league will be held from August 10 to 23, 2024 in Côte d’Ivoire.

Champions from seven countries of the WAFU-B Zone comprised of Benin, Burkina Faso, Côte d’Ivoire, Ghana, Niger Republic, Nigeria, and Togo will be battle for the sole slot to the finals.
Edo Queens won their first-ever Nigerian title last month in Yenegoa and will represent Nigeria after finishing top of the NWFL Premiership Super Six table in a dramatic finale.

The final of the WAFU-B Women’s Champions League Qualifiers in the last three years have been a Nigeria vs Ghana affair with Ghana winning two of the three editions.

In 2021, at the maiden WAFU-B Women’s Champions League Qualifiers, Rivers Angels represented Nigeria and reached the final where they lost to Ghanaian side, Hasaacas Ladies.

Bayelsa Queens won the second edition of the WAFU-B Women’s Champions League Qualifiers after a 3-0 win over another Ghanian side, Ampem Darkoa in Cote d’Ivoire while Ampem Darkoa edged Nigeria’s Delta Queens 1-0 to win the 2023 edition.

Cote d’Ivoire has hosted two of the past three editions of the WAFU-B Women’s Champions League Qualifiers in 2021 and 2022 while Benin City, Nigeria staged the last edition in 2023.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.