Africa Magic Celebrates 2024 Award Winners

Africa Magic Celebrates 2024 Award Winners

The much-anticipated 10th edition of the annual Africa Magic Viewers’ Choice Awards (AMVCA) has come to an end following an exciting and star-studded three-day celebrations.

This year’s edition was held between May 9 to 11, 2024, featuring a series of events, the highlights of which included the Special Night With Icons, Young Filmmakers Day, the Cultural Day Celebration, and the climax – the Awards Night on Saturday.

The events saw the African film and television industry come together to honour outstanding talents and creativity in the industry. From gripping performances to captivating storytelling, the awards truly showcased the best of African cinema.

The awards night was hosted by ace presenter IK Osakioduwa, with notable industry personalities including Joke Silva, Sola Sobowale, Chidi Mokeme, Richard Mofe Damijo, Genevieve Nnaji, Ramsey Noah, Kunle Afolayan, Mo Abudu, Odunlade Adekola, Kanayo O Kanyo and a host of others in attendance.

Speaking at the event, Dr. Busola Tejumola, Executive Head of Content and Channels, West Africa, MultiChoice, said, “The Africa Magic Viewers Choice Awards was created to honour exceptional achievements in television and film across the continent and we are excited to have been able to keep that fire burning through 10 editions.

“Year after year, we have received numerous entries and can attest to the growth in the quality of submissions with each edition. While this year’s edition is a milestone edition as it is the 10th, it is also a testament to the growth the film industry in Africa has experienced.”

“We congratulate all the winners and nominees who have put in the incredible work. We’ll also like to say a big thank you to everyone in the African film industry. You have all made us proud,” she stated.

This year’s edition had 27 categories, with 16 non-voting and nine audience voting categories, and the winners were selected by a jury led by ace filmmaker and head judge, Femi Odugbemi.

Some of the visible works from the awards included ‘Breath of Life’ and ‘Jagun Jagun’, winning multiple awards.

Veteran actress Idowu Philips, a.k.a Iya Rainbow, and veteran actor Richard Mofe Damijo (RMD), were the recipients of this year’s Lifetime Achievement or Industry Merit Awards while Chimezie Imo was the recipient of this year’s Trailblazer Award.

Over the past 10 years, the AMVCA has recognised talents, celebrated artistry, and fostered different crafts. The awards show has not only become a focal point in representing the myriad stories of Africa’s vast diversity — spanning over 3,000 tribes and a population exceeding one billion — but has also made a significant economic impact in its enabling country, Nigeria.

With an investment of N9 billion, it has created over 3,000 direct and indirect jobs, reaching an estimated total of 27,000 jobs throughout all its editions.

The tenth edition of the AMVCA was sponsored by headline sponsor, Amstel and tactical sponsors, Pepsi, Promasidor and Martell.

Other sponsors included TECNO, Hypo, Supa Komando, QuickTeller, Verve, Tiger Beer, MTN, Indomie, ONGA, Nivea, Goldberg, Jameson, Lush Hair, Legend Twist, and Chivas.

List of Winners:

Best Writing Award: Volume

Best writing movie: Fumilayo Ransome Kuti – Tunde Babalola

Best Sound Design: Grey Jones Ossai x2 (Breathe of Life and Blood Vessel)

Best Editing: Antonio Ribeiro

Best Indigenous West Africa. Femi Adebayo Jagun Jagun

Best Digital Content: Layi Wasabi

Best Short Film: Broken Mask

Best Unscripted M-Net Original: Nwuyee Bekee (Foreign Wives)

Best Scripted: Slum King

Best Makeup: Mami Wata (Campbell Precious Arebamen)
Best Art Direction: Over the bridge

Best Costume Design: Jagun Jagun (Lola Awe)

Best Supporting Actress: Genoveva Umeh (Breath of Life

Best Supporting Actor: Ademola Adedoyin (Breath of Life)

Best Cinematography: Over the bridge

Best Indigenous MNet Original: Irora Iya

Trailblazer Award: Chimezie Imo

Industry Merit Awards: Iya Rainbow aka Idowu Philips and Richard Mofe Damijo

Best Lead Actress: Kehinde Bankole (Adire)

Best Lead Actor: Wale Ojo (Breath of Life)

Best MultiChoice Talent Factory Movie: Our Dark Past

Best Series (Unscripted): Gh Queens (s2)

Best Series Scripted: Itura

Best Director: BB Sasore (Breath of Life)

Best Movie: Breath of Life

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.